Rosie and the Bird Brain

Framing Begins

Concrete Walks on concrete

Concrete Walks on concrete

What have I been up to lately? Well H1N1 has been making it’s way around my office, so far everyone except one employee has recovered. It’s surprising that a very fit 30 something woman has been so very ill. It just goes to show, you can never take your health for granted.
Work goes on at the little homestead! My handyperson, Dahve, (pronounced Da-ah-ve) has been guiding me through the steps to build a 10 x 12 shed for my gardening equipment. It will be wonderful to have my rototiller, lawnmower and gardening hand tools all in one place and out of my garage. My goal is to be able to actually park in said 2 car garage!!!
Dahve loaned me the slab frames and put them up with help from my future son-in-law. We hauled rock from the other side of the property and filled the frame with loose aggregate. We poured the concrete and just after it was finished, my hen named Concrete had to add her signature. I didn’t have the heart to smooth out Concrete’s footprint in the concrete!
The next Saturday it was time to start framing. Not as much work as I expected with Dahve’s air driven nail gun! It took two Saturday’s for us to frame all four walls. I can’t wait, this Saturday we will frame in the window and start with the concrete siding. Yes, more concrete, since the shed is up against a neighboring fence, we decided to go with the most flame retardant material there was, concrete paneling.
The hardest part so far, unloading the truck with the paneling and studs!

Leave a comment

Filed under All Things Crafty, Garden, Urban Farming

Leave a Reply

