Lagging Energy? Take Baby Steps!

I survived my duel with mono and strep as well as the National Novel Writing Month. Yes, I hit the 50K word count goal but, no, my energy level is not back up to par. I’m o.k. with it taking a little longer to rebound since I am sleeping well and it is still the rainy season. My son-in-law has been very generous with his time and has kept my fire box stocked with wood from the outside.

I have about forty projects on my list. I have banned any additions to the list as well as a prohibition on any new starts. I managed to actually complete a project even with my lagging energy. There is a beam over my fireplace in my den that is about 10” x 12” big and runs the length of the den. It had been painted several colors through the year and the finish was nasty looking with bumps of plaster in places.

I used an orange oil based paint stripper because of the allergies my daughter suffers from.  It did not work as fast as the toxic ones do and I had to re-apply it a few times.  It did work well and I didn’t have to worry about the fumes so I was happy with the product.  My patient son-in-law busted out the big sander and went to town after the stripping phase was complete.  Have you ever held a heavy belt sander upside down, over your head for an extended period?  I tried for about 20 seconds and then called in the cavalry!  It is now stained and sealed and I love the look!

I will write a separate post about how to deal with a midnight visit from an Opossum and sew up a chicken butt.  No, we did not eat the chicken, it was an option though.

My project list for my little urban homestead was over 75 items long three years ago.  Baby Steps, just press on.  There have been many times that I was tempted to feel sorry for myself.  It doesn’t accomplish anything but one more small step in the right direction, day after day, will accomplish much.  Now it’s on to my next project, tiling the master shower, and planning for the start of the growing season. 

Leave a comment

Filed under Projects

Leave a Reply

